LUXA (For The Best Shawarma Ever!) – Berlin, Germany

Though I have eaten my fair share of shawarma, gyro, and the like all over the world, it was never one of my favorite meals.  I’ve traveled through both Turkey and Greece, made plenty of late night gyro stops at home in New York, and eaten lots of shawarma when I lived in Copenhagen (where it was available in copious amounts due to the large Muslim population there).  But by far the shawarma here at Luxa was the best I’ve ever had in my life.  The meat had an amazing flavor and spice, like none I’ve tasted before, and was cooked to perfection.  It was so yummy, that Damany and I slammed pretty much the whole thing before I even thought to take a picture (as you can see by his face).

Something like 70% of all Turks living abroad live in Germany, and Berlin is known to have the highest Turkish population of any city outside of Turkey.  With such a large Muslim community comes the delights of eastern cuisine.  Luxa is located in Mitte, which is one of the more “happening” areas of Berlin.  There are a number of bars on this street as well, making Luxa a great (and tasty) stop to quickly soak up all that alcohol you’ve just had.  In all seriousness, this shawarma changed my life, and is definitely worth a try (even if you’re generally not a fan).

Luxa is located at:

Torstrasse 56, 10119

Mitte, Berlin Germany

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in Germany, ~A Fork & Knife~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

