Cafe Grumpy – Brooklyn, New York

Ideally located around the corner from my house in Greenpoint, Cafe Grumpy is by far the best coffee in the area (I guess you could have a different opinion, but I have yet to meet that person).  The space is long and narrow, with a good amount of light coming through the front windows.  The overall feel to the coffee shop is a hipster heaven.  There is always local art showing, and for sale, on the bright orange walls, giving off a playful vibe.  Because of the free internet access, seats are usually filled with young people working on their computers.

The staff is absolutely amazing.  And very serious about their coffee.  I’ve seen them do coffee tastings and known them to go to coffee conferences over the few years of my frequenting the place.  I have bought my beans here since I moved into the area, and am quite fond of their chai latte.  Recently I bought my Chemex brewing system here, and one of the staff members explained the coffee conessour perfection way of brewing a great cup of coffee in it.

So, what makes Grumpy so special?  Other than the spectacular (and knowledgeable) staff, the warm and cozy atmosphere, and the free internet access?  Of course it’s their coffee.  Cafe Grumpy gets their beans raw, and roasts them in house, providing me the freshest, easiest cup of coffee around.  They sometimes carry special award winning coffees as well, some brews they serve reaching up to $14.00 per cup.  I’m also a sucker for the grumpy coffee bean logo.

While I haven’t been to the other 2, they have 3 locations, so go get caffeinated:

Greenpoint:                               Park Slope:                              Chelsea

193 Meserole Ave                    383 7th Ave                              224 West 20th St

Brooklyn NY 11222                Brooklyn, NY 11215               New York, NY 10011

718.349.7623                          718.499.4404                          212.255.5511

http://www.cafegrumpy.com/

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in Homeslice (Brooklyn), ~A Fork & Knife~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cafe Grumpy – Brooklyn, New York

  1. Kirsten says:

    I’ve definitely come to adore Brooklyn and one of the reasons is the large availability of unique places to dine and drink. Most certainly I will add this to my list to try the next time I am in town!

  2. Pingback: Thermos | Making Airplaine Dinners a Thing of the Past? | DOTS.connected

Leave a Reply

