The Challenge: Traveling…Writing…Doing It More Often

Okay, so as you all know, three years from now I’ll be in that hammock in Southeast Asia, on a 6+ month tour, running Rare Beautiful Things from abroad and basically living off of various travel writing gigs. However, at my current average of .5-1 blog post per week since I started this blog in June, I’m not headed there very quickly, am I?   :/

So, to begin to push myself to write more, to reach the goal of travel writing for income, I’ve decided to join the 1000-1000 challenge. I’ve always found that giving myself deadlines and goals helped my productivity levels, so the challenge seems like a perfect way to kick start said productiveness.

What is the 1000-1000 Challenge, you ask?  The Idea is that each participant should try to build their blog up to the point where it is earning them at least $1000 USD per month, and getting an average of 1000 visitors per day.  On top of continually trying to promote your own blog for traffic, participants are asked to help each other gain traffic as well (in the hopes that fellow challengers will provide the same promotional courtesy).  To me it seems that this is not really the simplest of challenges.  It involves much time and planning, as well as dedication to the plan…which brings me back to my 2011 resolution: Schedule my life to bring about the best results for my productivity, happiness, and growth towards the future.

Over the next 6 months the goal will be for me to pump out 3 blog posts a week, after the six months is up, I’ll re-assess and see if I can add more to that mix. Being realistic about my time for now, as I have a full time job, run a four family household, and am trying to build my own company, I plan on most probably writing one adventure/story post, and two shorter review-like posts each week. I figure the weekends should give me the time I need to create a well thought out story, while the weekdays can give me a chance to look at some of the places I’ve been individually and remember why they were special.

photo via Luis Colon

 

Here’s the beauty of this plan, for me. Now that it’s posted, I have to do it. I’m kind of neurotic in that way.  Once I’ve told someone else I’m going to do something, I will…and most importantly, it will piss me off and stress me out if I don’t.  So in a way, posting this is like kicking myself in the ass and screaming, “STOP PROCRASTINATING!!! GO!! DO IT”!  You know the phrase, “if you want something done, give it to a busy person”?  Completely valid here.

Now, while it’s not like I have any shortage of places and travels to write about, still, I want to travel to more places, more often…and get to know them a bit.  For the past five years I’ve been lucky enough to take about 3-5 weeks of vacation each year. The past few of those have entailed one long 3 week vacation which involving lots of moving around, and one shorter week (or so) quickie. Over the next few years I would like to take two shorter trips, and one long one (if possible) every year…moving around a bit less than I have in the past perhaps, to really soak in the sights, smells, flavors, and faces of each place.

The only trip in planning process so far this year is to St Lucia for a few nights, and then a skip back over to Guatemala for another short visit with Alayna.  The day before New Years Eve 2010 I actually won 3 free nights at The BodyHoliday by LeSport in St Lucia…Someone up top was apparently listening when I said I wanted to travel more.

While the island is kind of an odd-ball location for me, and probably wouldn’t have been on my list, I’m happy to have won it, will definitely be enjoying my time there, and of course will be sharing with you another new place explored…one step closer to my ultimate goals.

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in ~Reflections~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Challenge: Traveling…Writing…Doing It More Often

  1. Pingback: The Resolution: 2011 | DOTS.connected

  2. Yay, welcome to the challenge 🙂 It will certainly mean getting off your ass and not procrastinating…something I need to do as well!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Challenge: Traveling…Writing…Doing It More Often | DOTS.connected -- Topsy.com

  4. Renee King says:

    Wow, Katrina….you’ve set high goals for yourself. Good for you! You are right, once you’ve spoken it to the universe, you’ll feel compelled to stick with it. I’m trying to do two posts a week….maybe one day I will get to three. The good news is that thanks to Todd, we’ll have a better chance at reaching our goals because the TBC community is so supportive.

  5. katrinamauro says:

    Hey Renee…apparently you know the secret too! I’m sure that you’ll get to 3 sooner than you think! At first I’m sure it will seem as though I’m pushing myself, but eventually, I’ll get into the swing of my schedule and pump em out no problem. Let’s rock this challenge! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Inspire and Be Inspired | DOTS.connected

Leave a Reply

