Beco: Brooklyn, NY

My friend Edwin introduced me to Beco.  He eats here every day.  Multiple times a day.

Edwin starting bringing me food from Beco when he knew I was crazy busy and probably hadn’t eaten, like any good friend should.  Usually his choice would consist of some kind of steak with rice, and fried eggs.  Yum.

Eating there for the first time, I was even more impressed.  I expected more meat on the menu as it is a Brazilian establishment, but there were some interesting dishes that were not steak or pork, which were fabulous.  Generally I steer clear of anything that says chicken, potato, tuna, followed by salad.  I don’t like mayo.  But this chicken salad was totally bomb!  Stringed chicken, green apples, carrots, raisins and crunchy shoestring fries!!  I almost died!  So good.  Then there were these little cheese ball things which far surpassed my expectations of “cheese bread”, as described on the menu.

Naturally, the Filet Mignon is good.  I mean, do you know any Brazilians who don’t cook a mean steak?  Because I don’t.  I had mine with eggs.  The sandwiches at the table looked amazing…especially the Misto Quente with the sunny side eggs on top.  I love runny eggs.

Ohhhh…also amazing is the Gnocchi.  For an Italian, I’ve never really been a huge fan of the dish.  I often feel that it has a pasty texture, probably from being overcooked, and is usually too filling of an option anyway.  But this stuff was perfect.   Not at all sticky, the creamy tomato ricotta sauce is the potato pastas perfect compliment.  And the dollop of cold ricotta in the center is a refreshing addition to the herbal tomato based flavor.

Of course it’s not a meal without cocktails and dessert.  Because I usually enjoy a Mojito I went with the Pineapple Mint Caipirinha.  It was quite tasty, but next time I think I’ll try the Batida de Coco.  I think the coconut drink would’ve been a great compliment to that amazing dessert roll.  Kind of like a crepe with melted caramel inside, powdered sugar, and fresh mint, the combination of all the flavors were something close to perfect.  The only thing that could have made it better was more mint per piece.

Beco

45 Richardson St
Brooklyn, New York 11211
(718) 599-1645

http://www.becobar.com/

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in Homeslice (Brooklyn), ~A Fork & Knife~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beco: Brooklyn, NY

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beco: Brooklyn, NY | DOTS.connected -- Topsy.com

  2. Abbey Hesser says:

    MMM!! This looks tasty! I’ve been looking for a good Brazilian joint and this is not too far from the place I call home. Will definitely have to give it a try! Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

