Habits Travel Has Changed – Snacking

photo via examiner.com

Back in 2005 I ate Doritos every day.  Then I went to Denmark, and lived in Copenhagen for 8 weeks.  When I arrived I was first shocked to see 7 Elevens all over the place, just like home.  When I stepped inside of one, I was even more surprised…barely any chips!  There was a small, seemingly unvisited, wall towards the back of each store; but it had weird flavors like Crème Fraiche, not Doritos.  Even more bizarre was the 7-10 aisles of candy featured at each of these 7 Elevens, 75% of which was black licorice.  Never a huge candy eater myself, my savior in Denmark was yogurt.  I never ate much of it at home, and on returning I realized why.  Scandinavian yogurt is beyond compare!  I grew a minor addiction to it while there, eating at least 4 a day.  When I came home I realized just how bad American Yogurt was, and would be on a continuous hunt for a brand that made a decent product (still hunting).  On top of this, I stopped craving Doritos (or chips at all for that matter)!  To this day I’ve only eaten them (Doritos) a few times, and every time I do they make my tongue burn; something I hadn’t noticed before weaning myself off of them.

"gringa" - Rabinal, Guatemala

After eating my way around a number of countries I’ve come to crave things like roasted corn (Istanbul), gringas and granizadas (Guatemala), fresh cut coconut (tropical places), panini and rice balls (Italy), and a whole slew of street cart or snack foods that treat the body way better than McDonalds, Burger King, or Taco Bell ever could – though I never really craved any of these places, I may have frequented them for lack of a better quick and cheap option.  Now, they’ve become only in emergency situations sites; and that I thank travel for.

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in ~A Fork & Knife~, ~Reflections~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Habits Travel Has Changed – Snacking

  1. Erin says:

    I hated yogurt with a passion until I lived in Greece, try Greek yogurt like Chobani or Fage (Total)!

  2. katrinamauro says:

    While I do like Fage, and often it is the brand I go with, it’s still very thick compared to Scandinavian yogurt. I fear I will never find anything comparable in the states. 😦

Leave a Reply

