L’Enfant – Washington DC

“Do you like crepes?” Myung asked as we tried to make our decision on where to have brunch.

“Who doesn’t like crepes?”

Weather you like crepes or not, L’Enfant will not leave you hungry.  Their brunch menu is absolutely fantastic, not unusual for a restaurant of Myung’s choice (she never lets my taste buds down).  Every time we go out I have a hard time deciding what to order, and always leave thinking ‘I must come back here’.

Needless to say, I didn’t have a crepe.  To start I ordered the goat cheese tart.  Filled with caramelized onions, bacon and fig then topped with goats cheese, this savory delight was the perfect combination of flavors in a flaky crust…truly a tart to drool over.  This is especially true if you’re anything like me and crave salt over sweet on a daily basis.  To be honest, I could’ve eaten like 6 of these things as my meal, which means I’ll have to attempt to make them at home.

Myung went for the frittata, while I went with the most obvious choice for myself; the lobster benedict.  It’s the one food I could see myself eating 3 times a day for the rest of my life and be happy.  Seriously, put lobster on anything and I’m in.  On top of that, I love my eggs runny…so you can imagine my delight when I saw those words used together on the menu: “Lobster. Benedict.”  Yum.  Two perfectly poached eggs, with asparagus, fresh lump lobster meat and chives, on top of a toasted croissant.  Heaven.

It’s yet another restaurant that I need to find my way back to, mostly to try EVERYTHING on their brunch menu.  Should you be in the area, I suggest you try it too.

L’Enfant

2000 18th St NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20009
(202) 319-1800

http://www.lenfantcafe.com/

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in ~A Fork & Knife~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

