RTW Planning | Where to Go

Here’s a quick list of the places I’d like to hit up during my 6 months away:

Sicily 2007 7121. I would love to spend a month in Sicily with my family.  Ideally I would travel a bit through Italy first.  The main reason would be to practice my Italian prior to seeing the fam.  Other reasons include food.  I absolutely loved the cheese platters in Milan, and there was also one restaurant there (who’s name I can’t remember, but location I can) that served some of the best soups.  We went there every night for a bowl, so I must go back.  Also, I dream about pizza from the famous da Michele in Naples on a daily basis.  I need a few days there, just to eat pizza all day.  Also, Torre Normanna in Maiori deserves a visit for sure!

Sicily 2007 671  Sicily 2007 515

2. I’ve never spent any time in the UK.  And after finding my best friend on twitter (@eatsleeplaugh) Edinburgh is so on the list.  There are many a foods that Ellie needs to introduce me to, and I am so ready to try them!

3. My favorite place in the world, Turkey, always deserves a visit.  Other than wanting to see old friends in Istanbul again, places like Cappadocia and Pummukale have been calling my name for years.  Also, I wouldn’t mind going back to Izmir to get some videos of the ceramic industry there.  After all, the Turkish ashtrays seem to be RBT’s biggest hit.

Sept 2008 Vacation 377

4.  Syria has been a dream sitting in the back of my head for a few years now.  I’ve heard only wonderful things about the place and it’s citizens.  I’m dying to see Damascus and interact with some of the friendliest people in the world (or so I’ve heard).

5. I have a good friend from college who lives in (and is from) Seoul.  Besides the fact that Moon has been asking me to visit for years, I feel like a stop in Korea with someone I know will be a good step in transitioning to the next destination on the list, where I’ll have no recognition of any part of the language.

6. South East Asia is sort of the all encompassing answer to where I want to spend serious time on the other side of the world.  I would ideally hit up Cambodia, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, and Laos for starters.  I’m sure there’s other places I want to go, but do not know of yet, which is why I assume the bulk of my trip may be spent here.  I’ve always been an adventurous eater, and love Asian food.  This, coupled with the area’s affordability should make for good times.

7. Australia and New Zealand.  Though I’m not sure where in particular I would want to go, or what in particular I would want to see, I can definitely see myself dining on kangaroo in the land down under.  A benefit is that I will know a few people there who I will be able to visit.  That always makes traveling easier.

There’s other places I would like to go, but I’m trying to be realistic with my time.  Six months can pass pretty quickly, and I have no desire to rush through one country or another.  If I did have the time though, I would also try to make my way to India, Jordan, Croatia, more of South and Central America, as well as visit those friends throughout the US I’ve been saying for years that I’m going to visit.  I’m not really sure how much time is too much or too little in one place or another, and am fully open to suggestions on a good timeframe for S.E. Asia.  If anyone’s got an opinion here, my ears are open.

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in ~Around The World~, ~Reflections~ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RTW Planning | Where to Go

  1. ellie says:

    Woohoo! Sounds great- I’m so excited for you! Sddenly 6 months seems like a short time..my list of places to visit just grew longer after reading yours. Can’t wait to show you around Edinburgh (and meet you in NY- will be there sometime in Sept/Oct

  2. katrinamauro says:

    I know!!!!! Six months is quite short once you start thinking of where to spend it!!! It’s okay though, I’ll just take multiple shorter trips once I come home…do S & Central America in spurts then. 🙂 Very excited to see you in NYC! Ninja sushi, here we come!!! And hopefully my taco place will be open again by then – though I’m beginning to believe they are never going to open again and just sit there dark w/ tables set up inside to feed no one. 😦

  3. Kat says:

    Depending on when you head to Australia, I should still be there! I’d also be up for meeting you somewhere in SE Asia if you want a travel buddy for a bit of that. Yay RTW!

    • katrinamauro says:

      Yes! That’s great news!! I think we would make pretty good travel buds… Kat-attack on SE Asia!!! It will be Epic.

      • Kat says:

        SE Asia will never be the same after it experiences the Kat-attack! I think based on our mutual interest in eating all of the food, we would travel well together.

      • katrinamauro says:

        lol…love it…”based on our mutual interest in eating all of the food” – it’s like a mission to try every unusual dish in SE Asia!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

