Wild Turkeys in the Suburbs

2011-08-21_15-24-43_865It was just last week that I had been talking about the wild turkeys that used to terrorize my parents neighborhood.  “In your parent’s neighborhood?”  Damany almost didn’t believe me when I said it, “No way!”

When I was in high school there was a period that I remember the police stopping traffic on a major street in front of my school so these large, ugly, vulturesque looking birds could cross without getting hit.  I also remember looking out the window in the morning to see a jogger being chased down the block by one of these seemingly unhappy creatures.

So, when I went up to the neighborhood only a few days after mentioning this wild suburban turkey presence, to my pleasant surprise there was a flock of them sitting in a neighbor’s lawn…only 2 doors down from my parents house.

2011-08-21_15-23-48_937

I got excited for a moment, and opened the car door as I got to the corner – the birds all turned towards me at once with their evil eyes, and I thought better of that idea.  I didn’t want a flock of birds pecking at me, that was for sure.  Wishing I had my real camera with me, instead of my phone, I rolled slowly closer to them – they continued to stare me down with their beady eyes.

2011-08-21_15-24-13_843 2011-08-21_15-24-07_782 2011-08-21_15-23-38_112

With each photo I snapped, the birds glared at me more intensely, so I felt as though it was best to keep it moving and drove away before they attacked my car.

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

