Handling Haggling in the Bazaar

If you’re going to Istanbul to shop, you’ll no doubt be doing a good amount of that shopping in the Grand Bazaar, where finding and haggling for items can be not only frustrating, but mentally and physically exhausting.  The good news is, if you are relentless, you will find what you want at a reasonable price.

Sept 2008 Vacation 516 Persistence in finding the items I want for a good price is one of my strong points, and though I may be irritated by the time I leave the bazaar, I’ve definitely had some fun in the haggling process.

Sept 2008 Vacation 521On my last excursion through the market I was looking for large (8″ round) evil eyes to give as gifts when I came home.  Every vendor I came to I told them I wanted the pieces for $5.  At first they all told me, “No, I cannot do that price.  The large ones are $30.”  To which my continued response was, “I cannot pay that.  I need 10 pieces, what can you do if I buy 10?”  Most of the merchants would come down to $25.  After about 30 minutes the prices started coming down to $20.  And after about an hour of going vendor to vendor, finally I got 10 pieces at $8 a piece.  It was more than what I wanted to spend, but far less than what the vendors wanted to get, and therefore a win for me.

Remember, its not all about getting the final offer in.

About katrinamauro

Landlord in Brooklyn, antique rug dealer, food & travel junkie who loves to experience new cultures and customs. On a mission to do big things.
This entry was posted in Turkey, ~Rare Beautiful Things~, ~Travel Tips~ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

